Born in 1971 in Ziguinchor, Senegal. He lives and works in Keur Massar, Senegal.

 

Once graduated from the Ecole Nationale des Beaux Arts in Dakar in 2001, Kassou Seydou took part in a two years residencies in Joal-Fadiouth, place of birth of Léopold Sedar Senghor, organized by the association ‘‘Portes et passages du retour’’.

 

Starting from the observation that all things are scripts and that a script is a distorted line, Kassou Seydou conceptualizes it through a reproduction of constant circular shapes. Poetic and similar to narration, the work of this Senegalese painter unveils his view of an altered and much more complex world : Kassou Seydou exposes a disordered world using a warm color scheme and lively characters.

 

Kassou Seydou has been exhibited in several solo shows such as Mbindoum kaw gue at Galerie Cécile Fakhoury in 2019 in Dakar, Senegal ; or the exhibition FO-RE, as part of the Dakar Biennale OFF in 2018. In 2017, Galerie Cécile Fakhoury organised his first solo show in Ivory Coast, Kings of the new Cities.

 

Kassou Seydou’s work has been exhibited in various group shows. In 2016, he is selected to participate in the exhibition Voyage à Dakar at the Galerie Médina in Bamako in collaboration with the Eiffage Foundation. This same year, his work is exhibited in the show En quête de sens at the Dance Hall as part of the Dakar Biennale OFF programme. In 2013, his engravings were exhibited at Raw Material Company, in Dakar Senegal for the exhibition De Kawral à Sargal. In 2010, Kassou Seydou was part of the show Act3 at the Boribana Museum of Contemporary art of Dakar, Senegal. The following year, he participates in the exhibition Ku Guestu Guiss at the Eiffage Foundation in 2009 in Dakar.

 

Kassou Seydou also took part to various residencies, preceding exhibitions, notably in 2017 at Fondation Blachère in la Somone, Senegal, and in 2015 at the French Alliance in Ziguinchor, Senegal. In 2009, he his laureate of the Wapi price (Word and Pictures) of the British Council, where his work will then be displayed in 2012 and 2014.

 

Selected exhibitions: Mbindoum kaw gue, Galerie Cécile Fakhoury, Dakar (Senegal, 2019) ; FO-RE, The OFF – Dakar Biennale (Senegal, 2018) ; Kings of the new cities, Galerie Cécile Fakhoury, Abidjan (Ivory Coast, 2017) ; Le premier salon des jungles urbaines, Partcours, Dakar (Senegal, 2016) ; De Kawral à Sargal, Raw Material Company, Dakar (Senegal, 2013)  

 

 

Image: Blue Bantamba (l'arbre à pablabres bleu), 2018

Né en 1971 à Ziguinchor, Sénégal. Vit et travaille à Keur Massar, Sénégal.

 

Formé à l'Ecole Nationale des Beaux-Arts de Dakar entre 1998 et 2001, Kassou Seydou participe à une résidence de deux ans à Joal-Fadiouth, ville de naissance de Léopold Sedar Senghor, avec l'association ''Portes et passages du retour''.

 

Partant du constat que tout est écriture et que l'écriture est une ligne déformée, l'artiste la conceptualise par la reproduction de formes circulaires constantes. Son travail, poétique et proche de la narration, dévoile une vision d'un monde altéré et complexifié : Kassou Seydou, avec sa palette chaude et ses personnages animés, fait le constat d'un monde en désordre.

 

En 2019, la galerie Cécile Fakhoury présente l'exposition personnelle Mbindoum kaw gue à la galerie de Dakar au Sénégal. En 2018, c'est dans le cadre du programme OFF de la Biennale de Dakar que la Galerie Cécile Fakhoury présente FO-RE, exposition monographique de l'artiste. En 2017, la Galerie lui consacre sa première exposition personnelle, Kings of The New Cities à Abidjan, Côte d'Ivoire.

 

Les œuvres de Kassou Seydou ont été montrées dans plusieurs expositions collectives. En 2016, il participe à l'exposition Voyage à Dakar à la Galerie Médina de Bamako avec la Fondation Eiffage et à l'exposition En quête de sens dans le OFF de la Biennale de Dakar. Ses gravures sont présentées à Raw Material Company pour l'exposition De Kawral à Sargal en 2013 à Dakar, Sénégal. En 2009, Il participe à l'exposition Ku Gestu Guiss à la Fondation Eiffage à Dakar, puis participe l'année suivante à Act3 au Musée Boribana d'art contemporain de Dakar, Sénégal.

 

Kassou Seydou a participé à plusieurs résidences ayant donné suite à des expositions, notamment en 2017 à la Fondation Blachère à la Somone au Sénégal et en 2015 à l'Alliance française de Ziguinchor. En 2009, il est lauréat du concours Wapi (Word & Pictures) du British Council, et y expose par la suite en 2012 et 2014.  

 

Sélection d'expositions : Art X Lagos (Nigeria, 2019), Mbindoum kaw gue, Galerie Cécile Fakhoury, Dakar (Sénégal, 2019) ; FO-RE, Le OFF - Biennale de Dakar (Sénégal, 2018) ; Kings of the new cities, Galerie Cécile Fakhoury, Abidjan (Côte d'Ivoire, 2017) ; Le premier salon des jungles urbaines, Partcours, Dakar (Sénégal, 2016) ; De Kawral à Sargal, Raw Material Company, Dakar (Sénégal, 2013)  

 

Image : Blue Bantamba (l'arbre à pablabres bleu), 2018