Carl-Edouard Keïta

The works exhibited in About Now #1 belong to the series of drawings presented by Carl-Edouard Keïta for his graduation from the New York Academy of Arts. In it, he explores, 100 years later, black figures emblematic of the period known as the Roaring Twenties, of which Paris was then the epicentre. It includes performances by the performer Josephine Baker, the dancer Feral Benga and the dancer Melka Soudani. The stories of these three artists reveal the complex relationships that existed at the time in France with regard to the figure of the Other, and particularly the African Other.

 

Between exoticism, fascination and admiration, the bodies of Joséphine Baker, Feral Benga and Melka Soudani were eroticized, shaped by the gaze of the white man, and fetishized according to codes they had to play with in order to free themselves. They are nevertheless central figures of these years of liberation, of the cabaret scene and of live performance in France. Joséphine Baker became the icon of the Roaring Twenties, and Feral Benga opened the Rose Rouge cabaret, which became an intermediary for young Africans wishing to succeed in this milieu in France.

 

The works of Carl-Edouard Keïta reveal the ambiguity of the place of these artists in post-war French society, and convey this admiration for bodies and movements. Between cubist inspiration and the influence of African primitive arts, Carl-Edouard Keïta’s works question the sharing of our heritage between tradition and modernity, between Africa and Europe.

Carl-Edouard Keïta

Les œuvres exposées dans About Now #1 appartiennent à la série de dessins présentée par Carl- Edouard Keïta pour son diplôme de fin d’études à la New York Academy of Arts. Il y explore, 100 ans après, des figures noires emblématiques de la période dites des Années Folles, dont Paris était alors l’épicentre. On y retrouve des représentations de la performeuse Joséphine Baker, du danseur Feral Benga ou encore de la danseuse Melka Soudani. Les histoires de ces trois artistes révèlent les rapports complexes qui existaient à l’époque en France vis-à-vis de la figure de l’Autre, et particulièrement de l’Autre africain.

 

Entre exotisme, fascination et admiration, les corps de Joséphine Baker, Feral Benga et Melka Soudani ont été érotisés, façonnés par le regard de l’homme blanc, et fétichisés selon des codes dont il leur a fallu jouer pour se libérer. Ils n’en restent pas moins des figures centrales de ces années de libération, du milieu du cabaret et du spectacle vivant en France. Joséphine Baker est devenue l’icône de ces années folles, et Feral Benga a quant à lui ouvert le cabaret de la Rose Rouge, devenu un intermédiaire pour de jeunes africains souhaitant réussir dans ce milieu en France.

 

Les œuvres de Carl-Edouard Keïta disent l’ambiguïté de la place de ces artistes dans la société française d’après-Guerre, et retransmettent cette admiration des corps et des mouvements. Entre inspiration cubiste et influence des arts premiers africains, Carl-Edouard Keïta s’interroge en creux dans ses œuvres sur le partage de notre héritage entre tradition et modernité, entre Afrique et Europe.