Dalila Dalléas Bouzar

Born in 1974 in Oran, Algeria. Lives and works in Bordeaux, France.

 

Dalila Dalléas Bouzar questions the status of the painter, art history, and representation as a power tool. Painting fuels her ongoing research, born from her revolt against the condition of women and the domination patterns.

 

By reinterpreting archive images extracted from Algeria’s history, she explores individual and collective memory in Algérie Année Zéro (Algeria Year Zero), 2012 or Princesses, 2015, as well as the fantasy image of Orient in the series Femmes d’Alger d’après Delacroix (Women of Algiers after Delacroix),  2012- 18. In the series Omar, 2018 or Saint-Georges et le dragon (Saint-Georges and the Dragon), 2018, she seeks to paint invisible identities into the field of past and current dominant representations.

 

Transcending painting, her research extends to performances; Dalila Dalléas Bouzar breaks the representational clichés of Arabic women in Studio Orient (Musée du Quai Branly, Paris, 2019), she ritualises the link between the painter, the world, and the museum in 1/365 Revolution (Musée des Civilisations Noires, Dakar, Senegal, 2019) and challenges the role of the painter Studio Dakar (2018), a performance where she painted portraits of strangers from Ouakam and Grand-Yoff in the frame of Dakar Biennial.

 

Following an art residency with traditional female embroiderers in Algeria, her textile works Innocente will be presented to the Bardo Museum in Algier in June 2019 and at Galerie Cécile Fakhoury – Abidjan in December 2019.

 

Selected exhibitions: Galerie Cécile Fakhoury (Abidjan, 2016), Dakar Biennial 2016 and 2018, Cairo Biennial 2018, SAFFCA (Johannesburg, 2018), Musée des Civilisations Noires (Dakar, Senegal, 2019).

 

Image: Vichy Era in Algeria #2, série Algérie Année 0, 2012

Née en 1974 à Oran en Algérie. Elle vit et travaille à Bordeaux, France.

Dalila Dalléas Bouzar questionne le statut du peintre, l’histoire de l’art et la représentation comme outil de pouvoir. La peinture est le moteur d’une réflexion née de sa révolte face à la condition des femmes et à l’histoire des dominations.

 

En réinterprétant les images de l’histoire algérienne, elle aborde la mémoire individuelle et collective dans Algérie Année Zéro (2012) ou Princesses (2015) ainsi que la vision fantasmée de l’Orient dans la série Femmes d’Alger d’après Delacroix (2012-18). Dans les séries Omar (2018) ou Saint-Georges et le dragon (2018) elle cherche à peindre des identités invisibles dans le champ des représentations dominantes d’hier et d’aujourd’hui.

 

Partant de la peinture, sa recherche se décline dans des performances : elle déconstruit les clichés de la représentation des femmes arabes dans Studio Orient (Quai Branly, 2019), elle ritualise le lien du peintre au monde et au musée dans 1/365 Revolution (Musée des Civilisations noires de Dakar, 2019) et elle interroge le statut du peintre durant la performance  Studio Dakar (2018), dans le cadre de la Biennale de Dakar, en réalisant à l’huile les portraits de passants à Ouakam et Grand-Yoff (Sénégal).

 

Suite à une résidence en Algérie aux côtés de brodeuses traditionnelles, son œuvre textile Innocente sera présentée au Musée du Bardo (Algérie) à l’été 2019 puis à la Galerie Cécile Fakhoury - Abidjan (Côte d’Ivoire) en décembre 2019.

 

Sélection d'expositions : Galerie Cécile Fakhoury, (Abidjan, 2016 et 2019 / Dakar, 2019), Biennale de Dakar 2016 et 2018, Biennale du Caire 2018, SAFFCA (Johannesburg, 2018), Musée des Civilisations noires (Dakar, 2019).

 

Image : Vichy Era in Algeria #2, série Algérie Année 0, 2012