Dalila Dalléas Bouzar

If Dalila Dalléas Bouzar raises the question of identity, she lets it speak through the flesh, traces on the skin. In gentle reliefs, in the quivering brushstrokes, graphics and oscillations of her painting, her confident gestures are sometimes disrupted. The images therefore reveal her fragility; the figure keeps her movement in equilibrium.

 

With restraint, each character wears an unresolved expression that forms with the passage of time and historicity. The black in contrast forms matter from which the light emanates in a classic style reinvented over the course of the emotions rendered. The voids left and the unfinished strokes in places cause melancholy and the urge to reshape a part of oneself, to listen to the resonance that they disseminate. The mysteries that infiltrate transfigure the intensity of the hidden world, of the cosmos and myths.

 

In a role-play she arranges, steals and dissolves the material to preserve the memory indefinitely. The artist is in turn victim and guilty of the disappearance of these traces of her past.

 

''Self-portrait, child portrait, hotel rooms and architecture drawings, child sculpture made of reinforced concrete, warrior penguins made of plaster, colors - green, umber, raw umber, burnt sienna, Prussian blue, cereleum, ultramarine, titanium white, zinc white, pink, flesh pink. My painting is a quest for flesh pink. The pink of the skin, of the flesh. I'm obsessed with pink. Pink makes me think of cannibalism. Eating human flesh. Eating yourself. The taboo. Since I started painting, I paint self-portraits, as if it were a statement, as if I had to convince myself that I exist. Algerian, born from a construction worker father who immigrated to France, I used to admire art from afar. Painting, a supreme and sacred art to my eyes has particularly always been taboo to me. Through painting, I free myself. I free myself of my personal history and of the contemporary history of the world, which dictates that an African female artist coming from European ex-colonies must do new media, art and talk about topical issues, and above all must not express herself through painting. Drawing is my foundation, painting is my main field, sculpture is its natural extension.''

Dalila Dalléas Bouzar

 

Image: Atlantique Noir, 2018

Si Dalila Dalléas Bouzar soulève la question de l'identité, elle la laisse se dire par la voix de la chair, de la trace à même la peau. En reliefs délicats, dans le sourcillement des traits du pinceau et de la graphie, dans les vibrations de sa peinture, son geste assuré est parfois interrompu. L'image révèle alors sa fragilité, la figure tient son mouvement en équilibre.

 

Avec retenue, chaque personnage porte en suspens sur son visage les expressions qui s'inscrivent au passage du temps et de son historicité. Le noir en contraste se fait matière d'où jaillit la lumière, dans une esthétique classique réinventée au fil des émotions restituées. Les vides laissés, les traits inachevés par endroit font planer une mélancolie et l'envie d'y reconstruire une part de soi, d'écouter l'écho qu'ils diffusent. Les mystères qui s'immiscent transfigurent l'intensité du monde caché, du cosmos, du mythe.

 

Dans un jeu de rôle, elle dispose, subtilise, dissout la matière pour en conserver indéfiniment l'empreinte en mémoire. L'artiste se fait tour à tour victime et coupable de la disparition des traces de son passé. 

 

"Autoportrait, portrait d'enfant, dessin de chambres d'hôtel et d'architecture, sculpture d'enfant en béton, pingouin guerrier en plâtre, couleurs, vert, terre d'ombre, ombre naturelle, terre de sienne brûlée, bleu de prusse, cereleum, outremer, blanc de Titane, blanc de zinc, rose, rose chair. Le but de ma peinture est la recherche du rose chair. Le rose de la peau, de la chair. L'obsession du rose. Le rose me fait penser au cannibalisme. Manger de la chair humaine. Se manger soi-même. Le tabou. Depuis que j'ai commencé la peinture, je peins des autoportraits, comme s'il s'agissait d'une déclaration ou pour me convaincre que j'existe. Algérienne, d'un papa maçon immigré en France, j'admirais l'art de loin. La peinture, art ultime et sacré à mes yeux a toujours été tabou. En faisant de la peinture, je me libère. Je me libère de mon histoire et de l'histoire du monde qui veut qu'une africaine issue des colonies européennes doit faire du multimédia et parler de l'actualité et surtout pas de la peinture personnelle. Le dessin est ma base, la peinture mon expression courante, la sculpture le prolongement naturel."

Dalila Dalléas Bouzar

 

Image : Untitled #5, série Ma demeure, 2019