Born in 1966 in Sinfra, Côte d'Ivoire. He works and lives in Essen, Germany.

Graduated from the Kunstakademie of Düsseldorf after having studied at the INSAAC in Abidjan, Jems Robert Koko Bi is nowadays a major figure of contemporary art in Ivory Coast and around the world. Both a sculptor and a performer, he enriched his technique as well as his aesthetics throughout his schooling, from the studio of Klaus Simon in Abidjan, that he joins in 1992, to the teachings of Klaus Rinke that he followed during his stay in Germany, which became his host country in 1997. 

The particularity of the way he shapes the wood, creating shapes at times figurative at times abstract, carving it with a knife, a chainsaw or fire, earned him to be selected to numerous international art events. In 2000, he receives for instance the price of the Dakar Biennal, of which he will also be a part in 2008 (with his work Darfur), in 2016 (he presents Racines, in the exhibition Contours) and in 2018 (with the installation Retour). His work has also been presented during the Havana Biennal in 2003, at the Documenta of Kassel in 2012 and at the Venice Biennal, within the Ivorian pavilion in 2013, 2015 and 2017.

His work has been displayed during The Divine Comedy exhibition in 2014 at the Museum für Moderne Kunst in Frankfurt, Germany, and in 2015 at the Smithsoninan National Museum of African Arts in the United States. This same year, Galerie Cécile Fakhoury dedicated a personal exhibition to his works, No Man's Land, in Abidjan. His sculptures were also shown at Musée Quai Branly in France during the exhibition Les Maîtres de la sculpture de Côte d'Ivoire (The masters of sculpture from Ivory Coast). In 2017, he participates to the Continua Sphères Ensemble exhibition at the 104 in Paris, and a personal exhibition, Terre d'origine, is dedicated to his work at Fondation Donwahi in Abidjan, Côte d'Ivoire.

Selected exhibitions: Cercle des vies, Galerie Cécile Fakhoury - Abidjan (Ivory Coast, 2018), La cloche des fourmis, Biennale de Dakar - Le OFF (Senegal, 2018), 1:54 Contemporary African Art Fair, New York (USA, 2019), Biennale de la sculpture d'Amsterdam (Netherlands, 2019).

 

Image : Pause Figurine, 2015

Né en 1966 à Sinfra en Côte d'Ivoire. Il vit et travaille aujourd'hui à Essen en Allemagne.

 

Diplôméde l'Académie des Beaux-Arts de Düsseldorf après avoir été étudiant à l'INSAAC d'Abidjan, Jems Robert Koko Bi est aujourd'hui une figure majeure de l'art contemporain en Côte d'Ivoire et à l'international. À la fois sculpteur et performeur, il enrichit tant sa technique que son esthétique tout au long de sa formation, depuis l'atelier de Klaus Simon à Abidjan, qu'il intègre en 1992, jusqu'à son séjour en Allemagne qui lui permet de suivre les enseignements de Klaus Rinke, et qui deviendra son pays d'accueil.

 

La particularité de son travail du bois, créant des formes tantôt figuratives, tantôt abstraites, le sculptant au couteau, à la tronçonneuse ou par le feu, lui a valu d'être à de nombreuses reprises sélectionnées pour différents événements internationaux. En 2000, il reçoit notamment le prix de la Biennale de Dakar, à laquelle il participera ensuite lors des éditions de 2008 (avec son œuvre Darfur), de 2016 (il y présente l'œuvre Racines, au sein de l'exposition Contours) et de 2018 (avec l'installation Retour). Son travail a également été  exposé lors de la Biennale de la Havane en 2003, à la Documenta de Kassel en 2012 ainsi qu'à la Biennale de Venise, au sein du pavillon ivoirien, en 2013, 2015 et 2017.

 

En 2014, ses œuvres ont été présentées lors de l'exposition The Divine Comedy, ainsi qu'au Museum für Moderne Kunst à Frankfurt, en Allemagne et en 2015 au Smithsonian National Museum of African Art, aux Etats-Unis. Cette même année, la Galerie Cécile Fakhoury présente son exposition personnelle No man's land à Abidjan et ses œuvres sont exposées au Musée du Quai Branly en France dans l'exposition Les Maîtres de la sculpture de Côte d'Ivoire. En 2017, il participe à l'exposition évènement Continua Sphères Ensemble au 104 à Paris, et son travail fait l'objet d'une exposition personnelle intitulée Terre d'origine à la Fondation Donwahi à Abidjan, Côte d'Ivoire.

 

Sélection d'expositions : Cercle de vies, Galerie Cécile Fakhoury - Abidjan (Côte d'Ivoire, 2018), La cloche des fourmis, Biennale de Dakar - Le OFF (Sénégal, 2018), 1:54 Contemporary African Art Fair, New York (Etats-Unis, 2019), Biennale de la sculpture d'Amsterdam (Pays-Bas, 2019)

 

Image : Pause Figurine, 2015