"My vision is not bound to a country or a continent; it extends beyond borders and all that can be found on a map. While I use identifiable pictorial elements to be better understood, this project is nevertheless about something much wider. I am painting the Cosmos."

Ouattara Watts

 

Through vibrant colors, dynamic shapes, and hypnotic signs and symbols, Ouattara Watts explores the spiritual bonds that transcend geography and nationality. By merging found objects, photographs, and raw materials, Watts' paintings invoke the artist's multicultural identity and offer various levels of readings, socially and historically. With lyricism and wit, Watts conjures imaginary worlds and magical visions, both urban and ancestral, to contemplate the metaphysical relationships between beings.

 

"In his paintings, [Ouattara Watts] materialises a vision of the world that abolishes categories, boundaries and demarcations and that materialises a way of being to the world that connects the Individual to the Universal. Slowly, in a gesture constantly repeated, Ouattara unrolls the thread that guides and directs all his production: this thread that braids together ancestral traditions and modern and contemporary traditions. […] Like Shango the master of the fire, Ouattara forges totems and masks that veil and unveil, he passes from the African statuary to the flatness of the painting, composes polyphonies of sonorous and coloured tones and brings out the spirits of the old and modern worlds. Through his alliances, his variations, his explosions of colours, symbols, pictograms, figures and sounds, the painter, a real go-between, connects heterogeneous universes to better mark the universal dimension.

As an echo to Barnett Newman affirming The Sublime is now, in all his large formats, Ouattara merges the opposites, organises the balance of extremes, harmonises the chaos of the world.

And affirms the cosmic unity."

Extract from the text Ouattara: Master of Fire by Gaya Golcymer

 

Image: Africa United, 2018

"Ma vision n'est pas reliée à un pays ni à un continent ; elle dépasse les frontières et tout ce qu'on peut repérer sur une carte. Si j'utilise des éléments identifiables pour mieux être compris, il s'agit toutefois d'un projet qui va bien au-delà. C'est le Cosmos que je peins."

Ouattara Watts

 

Avec des couleurs soutenues, des formes dynamiques, des signes et symboles hypnotiques, Ouattara Watts explore des liens spirituels qui transcendent géographie et nationalités. En fusionnant des objets trouvés, clichés photographiques ou autres matériaux bruts, la peinture de Ouattara évoque l'identité multiculturelle de l'artiste et nous livre différents niveaux de lecture, socialement et historiquement. Toujours empreint de lyrisme et d'esprit, il conjugue des mondes imaginaires et des visions magiques, urbanité et ancestralité, pour nous montrer les relations métaphysiques entre les êtres.

 

"Dans ses toiles, [Ouattara Watts] matérialise une vision du monde qui abolit les catégories, les frontières et les démarcations et qui matérialise une manière d'être au monde qui connecte le Particulier à l'Universel. Lentement, dans un geste sans cesse répété, Ouattara déroule ce fil rouge qui guide et oriente toute sa production : ce fil qui tresse ensemble des traditions ancestrales et des traditions modernes et contemporaines. [...] Tel Shango le maître du feu, Ouattara forge des totems et des masques qui voilent et dévoilent, il passe de la statuaire africaine à l'à-plat du tableau, compose des polyphonies de tonalités sonores et colorées et fait surgir les esprits des mondes anciens et des mondes modernes. Par ses alliances, ses variations, ses explosions de couleurs, de symboles, de pictogrammes, de figures et de sonorités, le peintre, véritable passeur, connecte des univers hétérogènes pour mieux en marquer la dimension universelle.

Comme en écho à Barnett Newman affirmant The Sublime is now, dans tous ses grands formats Ouattara fusionne les contraires, organise l'équilibre des extrêmes, harmonise le chaos du monde.

Et affirme l'unité cosmique."

 

Extrait du texte Ouattara : Maître du Feu par Gaya Golcymer

 

Image : Africa United, 2018