FIAC 2021: Cheikh Ndiaye

21 - 24 October 2021

For FIAC 2021, Galerie Cécile Fakhoury is pleased to propose for the first time in Europe, a solo show by Senegalese artist Cheikh Ndiaye with a series of new paintings. A monographic publication will be launched during the fair.

 

Born in 1970 in Dakar, Cheikh Ndiaye lives and works between Dakar, New-York and Prague. A graduate from Fine Art Schools of Dakar and Lyon, his work is made of series of paintings, installations, photography and film.

 

Through the visual interpretations of anthropology and architecture, Cheikh Ndiaye alludes to the socio-political history of urbanism in Western Africa in the context of rapid economic development— the era of post-independence. The work of Ndiaye rehabilitates not only architectural interstices, but also those between the materiality of paintwork and concept, between image and installation, between anthropology and art.

 

The same respect for labouring hands and do-it-yourself enthusiasts can be found in his installation work. The reconstruction of objects related to an informal economy appears in Ndiaye's works as a positive practice, a reparation of society. He observes the informal in a unique manner. According to him, this area is not a mere socio-economic survival practice, but the basis of all artistic work - it is an everyday Duchampian defamiliarization, a space where art is sutured to life.

 

Rooted in West-African urban context, his approach of informality in its everyday form connects the material day-to-day reality to a larger reflection questioning aspects of post-colonialism and the construction of cities and states in Western Africa, especially Senegal and Côte d’Ivoire - but also in other parts of the world linked to the history of the African diaspora, such as Cuba or America.

FIAC 2021: Cheikh Ndiaye

21 - 24 Octobre 2021

Dans le cadre de la Fiac 2021, la Galerie Cécile Fakhoury a le plaisir de proposer pour une exposition personnelle de l'artiste sénégalais Cheikh Ndiaye avec une série de peintures inédites. Une publication monographique sera lancée à l’occasion de la foire.

 

Né en 1970 à Dakar, Cheikh Ndiaye vit et travaille entre Dakar, New-York et Prague. Diplômé des écoles des beaux-arts de Dakar et de Lyon, son travail est composé de peintures, d'installations, de photographies et de films.

 

À travers une interprétation visuelle de l'anthropologie et de l'architecture, Cheikh Ndiaye évoque l'histoire socio-politique des urbanismes en Afrique de l'Ouest, dans le contexte d'un développement économique rapide (l'ère post-indépendance). L'œuvre de Ndiaye réhabilite non seulement les interstices architecturaux, mais aussi ceux qui se situent entre la matérialité de la peinture et du concept, entre l'image et l'installation, entre l'anthropologie et l'art.

 

Dans son travail d'installation, il traite au même niveau travail et bricolage : La reconstruction d'objets liés à une économie informelle apparaît dans les œuvres de Ndiaye comme une pratique positive, une réparation de la société. Il observe l'informel d'une manière unique. Selon lui, ce domaine n'est pas une simple pratique de survie socio-économique, mais la base de tout travail artistique - c'est une défamiliarisation duchampienne du quotidien, un espace où l'art est suturé à la vie.

 

Enracinée dans le contexte urbain ouest-africain, son approche de l'informalité dans sa forme quotidienne relie la réalité matérielle à une réflexion plus large qui questionne différents aspects du post-colonialisme, comme la construction des villes et des États en Afrique de l'Ouest, en particulier au Sénégal et en Côte d'Ivoire - mais aussi dans d’autres parties du monde liées à l’histoire de la diaspora africaine, comme Cuba ou l’Amérique.