Investec Cape Town Art Fair 2020: François-Xavier Gbré

Cape Town International Convention Centre, Convention Square, Cape Town, South Africa 13 - 16 February 2020
Cape Town International Convention Centre, Convention Square, Cape Town, South Africa Stant TT2 - Section Today/Tomorrow https://www.investeccapetownartfair.co.za

The Cécile Fakhoury Gallery (Abidjan, Dakar, Paris) is pleased to announce its participation in the ICTAF - Investec Cape Town Art Fair, in Cape Town, South Africa, where it will present the work of the French-Iberian photographer François-Xavier Gbré.

The gallery participates in this major event every year since 2016, in order to present the work of the gallery's artists in South Africa, at the heart of one of the most active art scenes on the African continent.

The gallery's stand will present a series of photographs taken by François-Xavier Gbré focusing mainly on a rapidly evolving Ivory Coast. Since 2011 and the end of the post-electoral crisis, an entire country is being rebuilt with spectacular infrastructures and a redefinition of the individual and collective landscape, but it is also a new page in the social history of the country that the artist captures, with the destruction of informal neighbourhoods and the displacement of populations.

The artist will take over the stand to create an original photographic installation, testifying to the formal radicality and poetic power of his work, between historical research, socio-political testimony and landscape photography.

Investec Cape Town Art Fair 2020: François-Xavier Gbré

13 - 16 Février 2020
Cape Town International Convention Centre, Convention Square, Cape Town, South Africa Stant TT2 - Section Today/Tomorrow https://www.investeccapetownartfair.co.za

La galerie Cécile Fakhoury (Abidjan, Dakar, Paris) a le plaisir d'annoncer sa participation à la foire ICTAF - Investec Cape Town Art Fair, au Cap en Afrique du Sud, où elle présentera les travaux du photographe ivoiro-français François-Xavier Gbré. 

 

La galerie participe à ce rendez-vous majeur chaque année depuis 2016, afin de présenter le travail des artistes de la galerie en Afrique du Sud, au cœur d'une des scènes artistiques les plus actives du continent africain. 

 

Le stand de la galerie présentera une série de photographies réalisées par François- Xavier Gbré focalisées principalement sur une Côte d'Ivoire en pleine évolution. Depuis 2011 et la fin de la crise post-électorale, c'est tout un pays qui se reconstruit avec des infrastructures spectaculaires et une redéfinition du paysage individuel et collectif, mais c'est aussi une nouvelle page de l'histoire sociale du pays que l'artiste capture, avec la destruction de quartiers informels et le déplacement de populations. 

 

L'artiste s'emparera du stand pour créer une installation photographique inédite, témoignant de la radicalité formelle et la puissance poétique de son travail, entre recherche historique, témoignage socio-politique et photographie de paysage.