François-Xavier Gbré

Living and working between France and Ivory Coast, this mixed-race Ivorian artist, who grew up in the North of France, faces Côte d'Ivoire's change, economic growth, great urban expansion, and above all vestiges. Step by step, François-Xavier Gbré creates a landscape of his own through a collection of photographs, which reveal hidden aspects of everyday life.

 

The past in Gbré's photographs is foreign and unfinished. United by a methodical, often distanced perspective on architecture and landscape as a form of documentary evidence, his work recalls the landmark photography of Lewis Baltz, Stephen Shore, and Guy Tillim.

 

From Mali to Israel, from Lille to Rabat, he photographs abandoned constructions that bear the traces of the social and political history of their country. François-Xavier Gbré's photographs cast a detached eye on these buildings and the symbolic weight that nations lay upon them.

 

With his series Tracks, started in 2009, he deals with the symbolism of once-valorized objects, now left behind. His images of interior scenes and the surfaces of abandoned buildings constructed during the colonial era or at the moment of independence sustain an examination of aesthetic and sociopolitical forces on architecture. With a soft radicality, he testifies of an interval, of those swinging moments intensely revealed by architecture.

 

With a sensibility that is deeply engaged in recording the state of the world and partaking in it through photography, François-Xavier Gbré's photographs reveal a passing, a track. The unexpected object or detail that brings back history is always present, moreover actual. In the urban confusion, where we sometimes get lost, and throughout his works, the question of our lifestyles, our social interactions and our relation to History, is raised on a local scale, as an echo of universal expression.

 

 

Image: Pont HKB #1, Abidjan, 2014

À Abidjan, où il s'est établi et travaille depuis 2012, cet artiste métis d'origine ivoirienne qui a grandi dans le nord de la France se confronte au changement, à l'essor économique, aux grands travaux d'urbanisation et surtout aux traces d'une Côte d'Ivoire de l'entre-deux. Pas à pas, François-Xavier Gbré crée son propre paysage à travers une collection de photographies qui révèlent les invisibilités du quotidien.

 

Le passé dans l'œuvre de François-Xavier Gbré est étranger et inachevé. Liées par une perspective méthodique, souvent distante, sur l'architecture et le paysage dans la forme d'un témoignage documentaire, son travail évoque la photographie d'architecture de Lewis Baltz, Stephen Shore et Guy Tillim.

 

Du Mali à Israël, de Lille à Rabat, il photographie des architectures à l'abandon portant en elles les traces de l'histoire sociale et politique de leur pays. Les photographies de François-Xavier Gbré posent un regard distancié sur les bâtiments et la charge symbolique que leur confèrent les peuples.

 

Avec sa série Tracks, débutée en 2009, François-Xavier Gbré réalise un travail d'archivage des édifices et espaces publics oubliés et sur la résilience de l'architecture. Dans ses séries sur l'urbanisation du nouvel Abidjan ou du complexe résidentiel Eko Atlantic au Nigeria, il continue à interroger, cliché après cliché, son propre monde en mutation. Dans une douce radicalité, il témoigne de l'entre-deux, de ces instants de basculement révélés avec force par l'architecture.

 

Avec une sensibilité engagée à constater l'état du monde, les photographies de François-Xavier Gbré révèlent un passage, une trace. L'objet inattendu, le détail qui renvoie à l'histoire est toujours présent. Dans la confusion urbaine qui nous perd parfois, il soulève la question de nos modes de fonctionnements, de nos rapports sociaux, de nos relations à l'Histoire, à l'échelle locale, dans l'écho d'une expression universelle.

 

Image : Pont HKB #1, Abidjan, 2014