Un est multiple: Elladj Lincy Deloumeaux - ABIDJAN

12 December 2020 - 6 March 2021 Project Space - Abidjan

First solo exhibition - paintings, drawings

Galerie Cécile Fakhoury is pleased to present Un est multiple, the first solo exhibition of Elladj Lincy Deloumeaux (born in 1995 in Les Abymes, Guadeloupe; lives and works in Paris, France) in the space of her Project Room in Abidjan, Ivory Coast.

Un est multiple (One is many), such is the aphorism chosen by Elladj Lincy Deloumeaux as the title of his first solo exhibition. Two a priori antinomic terms that nevertheless perfectly describe the artist’s complex vision and his conception of identity in history. Fragments of places, faces, memories, like the trace of a memorable and sensitive landscape. Elladj Lincy Deloumeaux’s paintings are like the voices of an ancestral choir telling us about the colours of yesteryear and the dreams of tomorrow.  The artist invites us to share moments lived or told, introduces us to members of his family, takes us into his universe made of childhood, adolescence and family stories, on the border between reality and dream. Here his sister, there his mother or his aunt, all the painted characters compose the testimony of the personal history of the artist, on the background of a larger history, that of the West Indies and more particularly of Guadeloupe, the artist’s native land.



With this first personal exhibition of the young artist, the Galerie Cécile Fakhoury pursues an ambitious work of promotion and support of the emerging contemporary scene in Africa and through its diaspora. In March 2020, in Abidjan, Côte d'Ivoire, the Cécile Fakhoury Gallery opens the "Project Room", an exhibition space located opposite the main gallery and dedicated to young creation as well as special projects.

Un est multiple: Elladj Lincy Deloumeaux - ABIDJAN

12 Décembre 2020 - 6 Mars 2021 Project Space - Abidjan

Première exposition personnelle - peintures, dessins

 

La Galerie Cécile Fakhoury a le plaisir de présenter Un est multiple, la première exposition personnelle d’Elladj Lincy Deloumeaux (né en 1995 à Les Abymes en Guadeloupe. Vit et travaille à Paris, France) dans l’espace de son Project Room à Abidjan en Côte d’Ivoire.

 

Un est multiple, tel est l’aphorisme choisi par Elladj Lincy Deloumeaux comme titre de sa première exposition personnelle. Deux termes a priori antinomiques qui décrivent pourtant parfaitement la vision complexe de l’artiste et sa conception de l’identité dans l’histoire. Des fragments de lieux, de visages, de souvenirs, comme la trace d’un paysage mémoriel et sensible. Les toiles d’Elladj Lincy Deloumeaux sont comme les voix d’un chœur ancestral qui nous raconte les couleurs d’autrefois et les rêves de demain.  L’artiste nous invite à partager des moments vécus ou racontés, nous présente les membres de sa famille, nous fait pénétrer dans son univers fait de souvenirs d’enfance, d’adolescence et d’histoires familiales, à la frontière du réel et du rêvé. Ici sa sœur, là sa mère ou sa tante, tous les personnages peints composent le témoignage de l’histoire personnelle de l’artiste, sur fond d’une histoire plus vaste, celle des Antilles et plus particulièrement de la Guadeloupe, terre d’origine de l’artiste.

 

Avec cette première exposition personnelle du jeune artiste, la Galerie Cécile Fakhoury poursuit un travail ambiteux de promotion et de soutien de la scène contemporaine émergente en Afrique et à travers sa diaspora. En mars 2020, à Abidjan en Côte d’Ivoire, la Galerie Cécile Fakhoury ouvre à cet effet le «Project Room», un espace d’exposition situé en face de la galerie principale et dédié à la jeune création ainsi qu’aux projets spéciaux.