La Nage de l'Éléphant: François-Xavier Gbré

25 September - 30 December 2021 ABIDJAN

For his new exhibition in Abidjan, the photographer François-Xavier Gbré continues his reading of the history of the economic and urban development of the Ivory Coast, a long-term research initiated in the early 2010s. In this new opus, the coastline, the forest and the land are mixed with architecture, in the strata of the eventful history of a country that recently celebrated sixty years of independence.

 

As an introduction to this new chapter in the work of the Franco-Ivorian photographer, the installation Emergence, Abidjan, Côte d'Ivoire (2013-2020) is a visual study of social and political changes through the built environment, and offers a poetic reading of the Abidjan territory. Wandering through the city, the artist takes fragments, looks at the ordinary and questions its coherence. 

 

In the large body of unpublished photographs that the artist unveils in the exhibition La Nage de l'Éléphant (The Elephant's Swim), the city of Abidjan still holds a symbolic place, so much so that it is the showcase of the power in place. Gbré criss-crosses and captures the city in its various facets, in its moments of grace, such as the view of the Plateau under a curtain of bluish rain; but also in the midst of serious events, such as La Vierge aux gravats, documented in the aftermath of the 2015 evictions in Adjouffou.

 

Nourished by displacement, the walking photographer's investigation creates an encounter with a hybrid nature in mutation, in a palette of subtle sensory variations, made of red earth, smoke, powdered ochres, scum, corrosions, where storm clouds exhaust the concrete and the sun dries up the wood sections, in a fundamental tension between man and nature. These evolutionary phenomena are deployed in the image Strates where François-Xavier Gbré captures a layer of materials, an organism where concrete, yellow earth and green grass are mixed together. L'Éclat, a monumental and quasi-fantastic work, illustrates the strange evolution of modern building materials put to the test of the equatorial climate. 

 

As everywhere in the world, economic development has led to a profound change in the natural environment, in a Côte d'Ivoire that has been both admired and exploited for the richness of its resources and the vitality of its flora and fauna. A territory (re)named not exactly after an animal, the elephant, but after ivory. A paradox that François-Xavier evokes in the title of the exhibition La Nage de l'Éléphant (The Elephant's Swim), a metaphor for the country's progress, between achievement, clumsiness and even absurdity.

 

This same symbolic elephant appears in the photographic archives methodically presented by François-Xavier Gbré in relation to his contemporary research. In the exhibition, François-Xavier presents history not in chronology but in resonance. At intervals of decades, current photographs and archives echo each other, and the investigation sketches out cycles and repetitions that culminate in a monumental fresco entitled La Grande Illusion, a composite work in which extracts of images dating from the colonial period, independence and the Ivorian miracle, among others, are mixed together. Amongst the yellowed prints and other iconographic material, found on second-hand stalls or on the internet, the figure of Louis Normand and other photographers from the same period such as Jean Carval appears. Active in Abidjan since the 1950s, their photographs resonate strangely with François-Xavier Gbré's own research in their desire to document pivotal moments in architecture, urbanism and landscape. These archives seem to foreshadow the upheavals that would shape the Ivory Coast of today.

 

A large part of the recent photographic corpus was produced during the period of the pandemic, when the artist sometimes finds it difficult to navigate between the Ébrié Lagoon and the Marais Poitevin, his two home ports. François-Xavier Gbré explains: "Photography is rooted in the trials of life. Pain and doubt are at the centre of the landscape. Mutilated trees or the scars of the heart, a stranded boat or the loss of freedom of movement, a wall of flames in black smoke or the annihilation of any positive vision of the future, a collapsed bridge or the difficulty of creating a link. This intimate and personal opening amplifies the evocative power of all the works presented. It brings the viewer closer to the message of the exhibition at a time when everyone is affected by the march of events. By giving a human face to environmental issues, François-Xavier Gbré reminds us that collective history is made up above all of a multitude of personal stories.

La Nage de l'Éléphant: François-Xavier Gbré

25 Septembre - 30 Décembre 2021 ABIDJAN

Pour sa nouvelle exposition à Abidjan, le photographe François-Xavier Gbré poursuit une lecture de l’histoire du développement économique et urbain de la Côte d’Ivoire, recherche au long cours initiée au début des années 2010. Dans ce nouvel opus, le littoral, la forêt, la terre se mélangent à l’architecture, dans les strates de l’histoire mouvementée d’un pays qui fêtait récemment les soixante ans de son indépendance. 

 

En introduction à ce nouveau chapitre du travail du photographe franco-ivoirien, l’installation Émergence, Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire (2013-2020) est une étude visuelle des changements sociaux et politiques à travers le bâti, et offre une lecture poétique du territoire abidjanais. Déambulant dans la ville, l’artiste prélève des fragments, regarde l’ordinaire et questionne sa cohérence. 

 

Dans le large corpus de photographies inédites que l’artiste dévoile dans l’exposition La Nage de l’Éléphant, la ville d’Abidjan tient encore et toujours une place symbolique, tant elle est la vitrine du pouvoir en place. Gbré sillonne et capture La Cité sous ses différentes facettes, dans ses moments de grâce, telle la vue du Plateau sous un rideau de pluie bleuté ; mais aussi au cœur d’événements graves à l’image de La Vierge aux gravats, documentée au lendemain des déguerpissements de 2015 à Adjouffou .

 

Nourrie par le déplacement, l’enquête du photographe marcheur crée la rencontre avec une nature hybride en mutation, dans une palette aux variations sensorielles subtiles, faite de terres rouges, fumées, ocres poudrés, coulés, écumes, corrosions, où les nuages d’orage épuisent le béton et ou le soleil assèche les tronçons de bois, dans une tension fondamentale entre l’homme et la nature. Ces phénomènes évolutifs se déploient dans l’image Strates où François-Xavier Gbré capture un millefeuille de matières, organisme où se mélangent béton, terre jaune et herbes vertes. L’Éclat, œuvre monumentale et quasi-fantastique, illustre l’évolution étrange des matériaux de construction modernes mis à l’épreuve du climat équatorial.

 

Comme partout dans le monde, le développement économique a entraîné une modification profonde de l’environnement naturel, dans une Côte d’Ivoire qui a été à la fois admirée et exploitée pour la richesse de ses ressources, la vitalité de sa faune et de sa flore. Un territoire (re)nommé non pas exactement d’après un animal, l’éléphant, mais d’après l’ivoire. Un paradoxe qu’évoque François-Xavier dans le titre de l’exposition La Nage de l’Éléphant, métaphore de la marche du pays, entre l’exploit, la maladresse ou même l’absurde.

 

Ce même éléphant si symbolique apparaît dans les archives photographiques méthodiquement présentées par François-Xavier Gbré en regard de sa recherche contemporaine. Dans l’exposition, François-Xavier présente l’Histoire non pas en chronologie mais en résonnances. A des dizaines d’années d’intervalles, des photographies actuelles et des archives se font écho, et l’enquête esquisse cycles et répétitions qui culminent dans une fresque monumentale intitulée La Grande Illusion, œuvre composite où se mélangent des extraits d’images datant, entre autres, de la période coloniale, des indépendances ou du miracle ivoirien. Parmi les tirages jaunis et autre matériel iconographique, chinés sur les étals de brocantes ou sur internet, apparaît la figure de Louis Normand et d’autres photographes de la même période comme Jean Carval. Actifs à Abidjan depuis les années 50, leurs photographies résonnent étrangement avec la propre recherche de François-Xavier Gbré dans leur désir de documenter des moments charnières de l’architecture, de l’urbanisme et du paysage. Ces archives semblent préfigurer les bouleversements qui allaient façonner la Côte d’Ivoire d’aujourd’hui. 

 

Une grande partie du corpus photographique récent a été réalisé en période de pandémie, alors que l’artiste navigue parfois difficilement entre la lagune Ébrié et le marais Poitevin, ses deux ports d’attache. François-Xavier Gbré précise : "La photographie prend racine dans les épreuves de la vie. Douleurs et doutes se trouvent au centre du paysage. Des arbres mutilés ou les cicatrices du cœur, un bateau échoué ou la perte de liberté de mouvement, un mur de flammes dans une fumée noire ou l’anéantissement de toute vision positive du futur, un pont écroulé ou la difficulté de créer du lien." Cette ouverture intime et personnelle amplifie la force évocatrice de l’ensemble des œuvres présentées. Elle rapproche le spectateur du message de l’exposition à un moment où chacun est affecté par la marche des évènements en cours. En donnant un visage humain aux questions environnementales, François-Xavier  Gbré rappelle que l’histoire collective est faite avant tout d’une multitude d’histoires personnelles.