La sélection de / Vincent Michéa : #1

27 March - 2 April 2020
  • In the section ‘The selection of’ the artists take the floor and bring us into their universe, sharing the works,...

    In the section ‘The selection of’ the artists take the floor and bring us into their universe, sharing the works, films, books and music that have left their mark on their imaginations. 

     

    This week, immerse yourself in the universe of Vincent Michéa.

    En savoir plus sur l'artiste
  • Franco et le Tout Puissant OK Jazz

    Franco et le Tout Puissant OK Jazz

     

    OK Jazz (which later became the TP OK Jazz for Tout puissant orchestre Kinshasa jazz) was a Congolese rumba group founded by Jean Serge Essous and François Lumbago Makiadi, known as "Franco", on 6 June 1956. Franco is considered to be one of the founders of contemporary Congolese music.


    Image: Vincent Michéa, Aminata #1, Gold Series, 2013

  • James Baldwin, Un autre pays (Another Country), 1962

    • Un autre pays, Collection Du monde entier, Editions Gallimard, Paris, 1962

      Un autre pays, Collection Du monde entier, Editions Gallimard, Paris, 1962

    • James Baldwin (1924-1987)

      James Baldwin (1924-1987)

  • "One of the most beautiful novels of love and friendship."
    Vincent Michéa (VM)


    Another country (Another country, 1962), is a novel by James Baldwin set in the Greenwich Village of the 1950s. It deals with many themes that were taboo at the time of its publication, including racial segregation, bisexuality and interracial couples. In this book, Baldwin once again establishes himself as one of the most brilliant spokespersons for the black minority in the United States.

    • Vincent Michéa, Untitled #1,100% Dakar series, 2015

      Vincent Michéa, UNTITLED #1

      100% DAKAR SERIES, 2015 Collage on paper
      40 x 30 cm
    • Vincent Michéa, Untitled #4,100% Dakar series, 2014

      Vincent Michéa, UNTITLED #4

      100% DAKAR SERIES, 2014 Collage on paper
      40 x 30 cm
  • Stranger Than Paradise, Jim Jarmusch, 1984

    Stranger Than Paradise, Jim Jarmusch, 1984

     

    "1984, it was Wednesday, the day the movies came out. We were at school on Rue du Dragon in the sixth arrondissement, impatient. We went to the first 11am screening at the cinema Le Saint André des Arts in the Latin Quarter. There was Robert Frank in that film and we already liked Robert Frank a lot." VM

    "Stranger than paradise is a story told in fragments, a story about America as seen through the eyes of "strangers." It's a film about exile, exile from one's country, exile from oneself, and about missed encounters, but barely missed..." Jim Jarmusch


    Image: Vincent Michéa, Friendship #2, Gold Series, 2015

  • Caetano Veloso, Lua de Sao Jorge, de l'album Cinema Transcendental, 1979

    Caetano Veloso, Lua de Sao Jorge, de l'album Cinema Transcendental, 1979

     

    "From the same composer, I also like Transa, released in 1972." VM

    Born in 1942 in the state of Bahia, Brazil, Caetano Veloso is one of the most popular and recognized Brazilian musicians. Composed of 10 tracks, Cinéma Transcendental was released in 1979. Some of his titles have become real successes in Brazil.

    Image: Vincent Michéa, L'île de Gorée, 2016

  • Xuly Bët

    Lamine Badiane Kouyaté, couturier
    • Vincent Michéa, Fatou Green Shadow, 2020, Photocollage

      Vincent Michéa, Fatou Green Shadow, 2020

      Photocollage
    • Xuly Bët, création, 2018

      Xuly Bët, création, 2018

    • Vincent Michéa, Fatou Yellow Shadow, 2019, Photocollage

      Vincent Michéa, Fatou Yellow Shadow, 2019

      Photocollage
  • "Another inhabited ’fabric photomonitor'!" VM

     

    XULY.Bët which means "keep your eyes open" in wolof, is a Parisian fashion house founded in 1991. Born in Lamine Kouyaté's mind, who moved from his native Bamako, Mali to Paris around 1982. While studying architecture in Strasbourg, Kouyaté fell in love with the Parisian fashion scene and moved to Paris to begin working as a clothing designer. He soon launched a subversive type of fashion, sustainable but also modern and offering women a new liberty. 

    With an African inheritance, XULY.Bët is best known for its use of recycled clothing to create high fashion, reshaping found garments by cutting, stitching and making modifications that range from the subtle shaping to the complete transformation of the clothing function. Like simple nylon garments transformed into beautiful pieces using techniques such as tie-dye.
     
     
  • Vincent Michéa, The Good Book, Or Série, 2013

    Louis Armstrong, the album Louis and the Good Book, 1958

     

    "My first musical memory. My mother had this record, and now it's in my music library." VM



    Born in 1901 in New Orleans, Louis Armstrong is an African-American jazz musician, one of the most influential of his time and to this day. From an Afro-American folk music rooted in gospel and traditional blues and locked in a land of its own, Armstrong has made a national and popular music stream with a universal appeal. His album Louis and the Good Book, composed of jazz and spirituals, was released in 1958.



    Image: Vincent Michéa, The Good Book, Gold Series, 2013

  • André Courrèges, couturier (1923-2016)

  • "A visionary utopian. Classic. I was his driver in the summer of '98. We went together once to Beaubourg (by subway) and twice to the Museum of Modern Art in Paris, Iéna station. He was doing painting and sculpture at his home in Neuilly." VM

    Nicknamed 'Le Corbusier' of fashion, André Courrèges, born in 1923 in Pau, is a French couturier and founder of the Courrèges fashion house. He promoted miniskirts and trousers for women, and in the early 1960s he created a fashion that was described as "futuristic, functional, architectural, symbol of its time" and which inspired many designers by its geometric shapes and the omnipresence of white.

  • Claude Nougaro (1929 - 2004)

    Claude Nougaro (1929 - 2004)

     

    "Nougaro, he has my accent. He's a wizard of words, feelings and melodies. With him it's like in the movies." VM

    Born in 1929 in Toulouse, Claude Nougaro is a French author, composer, performer and poet. A great lover of jazz, Latin and African music, playing on the musicality of words, he has applied himself throughout his career, in an unusual marriage of genres, to unite French song, poetry and rhythm.


    Image: Vincent Michéa, N°06, Fatou Pompidou Series, 2017

  • Max Frisch / Raymond Carver

    • Max Frisch, Montauk, Collection Du monde entier, Editions Gallimard, Paris, 1978

      Max Frisch, Montauk, Collection Du monde entier, Editions Gallimard, Paris, 1978

    • Raymond Carver, Les vitamines du bonheur, Editions Mazarine, 1985

      Raymond Carver, Les vitamines du bonheur, Editions Mazarine, 1985

  • "Max Frisch is Swiss, an architect, a novelist and a playwright. He builds his writings like architecture. A great contemporary romantic." VM

    Born in 1911 in Zurich, Max Frisch is a writer and architect from German-speaking Switzerland. A member of the Olten Group, he is considered one of the most important writers of post-war German-language literature. In his work, Frisch paid particular attention to issues of personal identity, morality and political commitment. In Montauk (1978), Max Frisch gives the autobiographical text, the diary as a literary form, the dimension of the imagination and the significance of the novel.


    "Raymond Carver, that's life!!" VM

    Raymond Carver, born in 1938 in Oregon in the United States, is an American writer and poet, primarily considered a leading short story writer. Often described as a 'minimalist' writer, his writing is characterized by stylistic simplicity, elegant and simple language, and a realism of ordinary drama. Published in 1983, The Vitamins of Happiness is a collection of short stories that paints a portrait of the social reality of the American middle class in the late 1970s.

     

  • Lee Scratch Perry & The Upsetters, Album Cloak and Dagger, 1973

    Lee Scratch Perry & The Upsetters, Album Cloak and Dagger, 1973

     

    "He's doing 'collage' with sound. Absolute genius." VM

    Born in 1986, Lee "Scratch" Perry (real name Rainford Hugh Perry, nicknamed among others The Neat little man, The Upsetter, Pipecock Jaxxton...) is a Jamaican producer and musician born in 1936. He is and remains an emblematic figure of experimental music.

    Image: Untitled #2, Disco Club series, 2015

  • Ousmane Sembène, Le Mandat, 1968

    Click on the sides to scroll through images
  • "He's one of those creators who have changed mediums to express their ideas, their points of view more broadly. Linton Kwezi Johnson did the same with his poems set to music. They're both very politically engaged." VM

    Ousmane Sembène (1923-2007) is a major Senegalese writer, director, actor and screenwriter of contemporary Africa, known for his militant bias on political and social issues. "Le Mandat" (Mandabi), released in 1968, is an adaptation of Ousmane Sembène's eponymous novel.

  • Georges Bataille, Lascaux ou la naissance de l'art, 1955

    • Lascaux ou la naissance de l'art, in Œuvre complètes, Gallimard, 1955

      Lascaux ou la naissance de l'art, in Œuvre complètes, Gallimard, 1955

    • Georges Bataille (1897-1962)

      Georges Bataille (1897-1962)

    • Untitled #8, série Mickael Collection, 2017

      Untitled #8, série Mickael Collection, 2017

  • "The best text on Paleolithic art and art in general. A sensitive, aesthetic and humanistic approach to plastic creation. One must love caves!" VM

    Born in 1897, Georges Bataille is a French librarian and writer. His work is composed of works of literature but also of anthropology, philosophy, economics, sociology and history of art. His essay Lascaux ou la naissance de l'art (Lascaux or the Birth of Art), published in 1955, is a testament to this diversity of genres.

     

  • Œuvres - sélection

La sélection de / Vincent Michéa : #1

27 Mars - 2 Avril 2020
  • Dans la rubrique 'La sélection de', les artistes prennent la parole et nous plongent dans leur univers partageant les œuvres...

    Dans la rubrique 'La sélection de', les artistes prennent la parole et nous plongent dans leur univers partageant les œuvres qui ont marqué leur imaginaire. 

    Cette semaine, plongez dans l'univers de Vincent Michéa.

     

    En savoir plus sur l'artiste
  • Franco et le Tout Puissant OK Jazz

    Franco et le Tout Puissant OK Jazz

     

     

    OK Jazz (devenu ensuite le TP OK Jazz pour Tout puissant orchestre Kinshasa jazz) était un groupe de rumba congolaise, fondé par Jean Serge Essous et  François Lumbago Makiadi, dit "Franco", le 6 juin 1956. Franco est considéré comme l’un des fondateurs de la musique congolaise contemporaine. 

     

     

    Ci-contre : Vincent Michéa, Aminata #1, Or Série, 2013

  • James Baldwin, Un autre pays (Another Country), 1962

    • Un autre pays, Collection Du monde entier, Editions Gallimard, Paris, 1962

      Un autre pays, Collection Du monde entier, Editions Gallimard, Paris, 1962

    • James Baldwin (1924-1987)

      James Baldwin (1924-1987)

  • "Un des plus beaux romans d'amour et d'amitié." 

    Vincent Michéa  (VM)

     

    Un autre pays (Another country, 1962), est un roman de James Baldwin situé dans le Greenwich Village des années 50. Il aborde de nombreux thèmes, tabous à l’époque de sa parution, dont la ségrégation raciale, la bisexualité ou encore les couples interraciaux. Dans ce livre, Baldwin s’affirme une fois de plus comme l’un des porte-paroles les plus brillants de la minorité noire aux Etats-Unis. 

     

     

     

    • Vincent Michéa, Untitled #1,100% Dakar series, 2015

      Vincent Michéa, UNTITLED #1

      100% DAKAR SERIES, 2015 Collage on paper
      40 x 30 cm
    • Vincent Michéa, Untitled #4,100% Dakar series, 2014

      Vincent Michéa, UNTITLED #4

      100% DAKAR SERIES, 2014 Collage on paper
      40 x 30 cm
  • Stranger Than Paradise, Jim Jarmusch, 1984

    Stranger Than Paradise, Jim Jarmusch, 1984

     

    "1984, c'était mercredi jour de sortie des films. Nous étions à l'école rue du Dragon dans le 6e, impatients. Nous sommes allés à la première séance de 11h au cinema Le Saint André des Arts au quartier latin. Il y avait du Robert Frank dans ce film et nous aimions déjà beaucoup Robert Frank." VM

     

    "Stranger than paradise est une histoire racontée par fragments, une histoire qui parle de l’Amérique vue à travers le regard d’"étrangers". C’est un film sur l’exil ( exil de son pays, exil de soi-même) et sur des rapports manqués, mais manqués de peu…" Jim Jarmusch

     

    Ci-contre : Vincent Michéa, Amitié #2, Or série, 2015

  • Caetano Veloso, Lua de Sao Jorge, de l'album Cinema Transcendental, 1979

    Caetano Veloso, Lua de Sao Jorge, de l'album Cinema Transcendental, 1979

     

    "Du même compositeur, j'aime aussi Transa, sorti en 1972." VM 

     

    Né en 1942 dans l’Etat de Bahia au Brésil, Caetano Veloso est l’un des musiciens brésiliens les plus populaires et reconnus. Composé de 10 morceaux, Cinéma Transcendental est sorti en 1979. Certains de ses titres sont devenus au Brésil de véritables succès. 

     

    Ci-contre : Vincent Michéa, L'île de Gorée, 2016

  • Xuly Bët

    Lamine Badiane Kouyaté, couturier
    • Vincent Michéa, Fatou Green Shadow, 2020, Photocollage

      Vincent Michéa, Fatou Green Shadow, 2020

      Photocollage
    • Xuly Bët, création, 2018

      Xuly Bët, création, 2018

    • Vincent Michéa, Fatou Yellow Shadow, 2019, Photocollage

      Vincent Michéa, Fatou Yellow Shadow, 2019

      Photocollage
  • "Un autre "photomonteur de tissus" habité !" VM

     

    XULY.Bët, qui signifie "gardez les yeux ouverts" en wolof, est une maison de couture parisienne fondée en 1991. Elle est née dans l'esprit de Lamine Kouyaté, qui a quitté sa ville natale de Bamako, au Mali, pour s'installer à Paris vers 1982. Alors qu'il étudiait l'architecture à Strasbourg, Kouyaté est tombé amoureux de la scène de la mode parisienne et s'est installé à Paris pour commencer à travailler comme créateur de vêtements. Il ne tarde pas à lancer une mode subversive, durable mais aussi moderne et offrant aux femmes une nouvelle liberté. 

     

    D'origine africaine, XULY.Bët est surtout connu pour son utilisation de vêtements recyclés pour créer de la haute couture, remodelant les vêtements trouvés en les coupant, les cousant et en y apportant des modifications qui vont du modelage subtil à la transformation complète de la fonction du vêtement, à l'image de ces simples vêtements en nylon transformés en pièces uniques grâce à des techniques telles que la teinture tie-dye. 

     

     

  • Vincent Michéa, The Good Book, Or Série, 2013

    Louis Armstrong, the album Louis and the Good Book, 1958

     

    "Mon premier souvenir musical. Ma mère avait ce disque, il est maintenant dans ma discothèque." VM

     

    Né en 1901 à la Nouvelle-Orléans, Louis Armstrong est un musicien afro-américain de jazz, l’un des plus influents de son époque et jusqu’à aujourd’hui. D'une musique de folklore afro-américaine enracinée dans le gospel et le blues traditionnel et enfermée dans un terroir, Armstrong a fait un courant musical national et populaire à vocation universelle. Son album Louis and the Good Book, composé de jazz et de spirituals, est sorti en 1958. 

     

    Ci-contre : Vincent Michéa, The Good Book, Or Série, 2013

  • André Courrèges, couturier (1923-2016)

  • "Un utopiste visionnaire. Classique. J'ai été son chauffeur durant l'été 1998. Nous sommes allés ensemble une fois à Beaubourg (en métro) et deux fois au Musée d'Art Moderne de Paris, station Iéna. Il faisait alors de la peinture et des sculptures chez lui à Neuilly." VM

     

    Surnommé ‘Le Corbusier’ de la mode, André Courrèges, né en 1923 à Pau, est un couturier français, fondateur de la maison Courrèges. Promoteur de la minijupe et du pantalon pour les femmes, il crée dès le début des années 1960 une mode que l’on qualifiera de "futuriste, fonctionnelle, architecturée, symbole de son époque" et qui inspirera à la suite de nombreux stylistes par ses formes géométriques et l'omniprésence du blanc.

     

     

     

  • Claude Nougaro (1929 - 2004)

    Claude Nougaro (1929 - 2004)

     

    "Nougaro, il a mon accent. C'est un sorcier des mots, des sentiments et des mélodies. Avec lui c'est comme au Cinéma." VM

     

    Né en 1929 à Toulouse, Claude Nougaro est un auteur, compositeur, interprète et poète français. Grand amateur de jazz, de musique latine et africaine, jouant sur la musicalité des mots, il s'est appliqué tout au long de sa carrière, dans un insolite mariage des genres, à unir chanson française, poésie et rythme. 

     

    Ci-contre : Vincent Michéa, N°06, Série Fatou Pompidou, 2017

  • Max Frisch / Raymond Carver

    • Max Frisch, Montauk, Collection Du monde entier, Editions Gallimard, Paris, 1978

      Max Frisch, Montauk, Collection Du monde entier, Editions Gallimard, Paris, 1978

    • Raymond Carver, Les vitamines du bonheur, Editions Mazarine, 1985

      Raymond Carver, Les vitamines du bonheur, Editions Mazarine, 1985

  • "Max Frisch est suisse, architecte, romancier et dramaturge. Il construit ses écrits comme une architecture. Un grand romantique contemporain." VM

     

    Né en 1911 à Zurich, Max Frisch est un écrivain et architecte suisse alémanique. Membre du Groupe Olten, il est considéré comme faisant partie des écrivains les plus importants de la littérature de langue allemande de l'après-guerre. Dans son œuvre, Frisch a particulièrement prêté attention aux problématiques d'identité personnelle, de morale et d'engagement politique. Dans Montauk (1978), Max Frisch donne au texte autobiographique, au journal comme forme littéraire, la dimension de l’imaginaire et la portée du roman.

     

     

    "Raymond Carver, c'est la vie !!!"  VM

     

    Raymond Carver, né en 1938 dans l’Oregon aux Etats-Unis, est un écrivain et poète américain, avant tout considéré comme un nouvelliste de premier plan. Souvent décrit comme un écrivain ‘minimaliste’, son écriture est caractérisée par un dépouillement stylistique, une langue élégante et simple, ainsi que par un réalisme des drames ordinaires. Publié en 1983, Les vitamines du bonheur est un recueil de nouvelles qui brosse un portrait de la réalité sociale de la middle-class américaine à la fin des années 70.  

     

  • Lee Scratch Perry & The Upsetters, Album Cloak and Dagger, 1973

    Lee Scratch Perry & The Upsetters, Album Cloak and Dagger, 1973

     

    "Il fait du "collage" avec du son. Un génie absolu." VM 

     

    Né en 1986, Lee « Scratch » Perry (de son vrai nom Rainford Hugh Perry, surnommé entre autres The Neat little man, The Upsetter, Pipecock Jaxxton…) est un producteur et musicien jamaïcain né en 1936. Il est et reste une figure emblématique de la musique expérimentale. 

     

    Ci-contre : Untitled #2, Disco Club series, 2015

  • Ousmane Sembène, Le Mandat, 1968

    Cliquez sur les côtés pour faire défiler les images
  • "Il fait partie de ces créateurs qui ont changé de médium pour exprimer plus largement leurs idées, leurs point de vues. Linton Kwezi Johnson a fait de même avec ses poèmes mis en musique. Ils sont tous les deux très engagés politiquement." VM

     

    Ousmane Sembène (1923-2007) est un écrivain, réalisateur, acteur et scénariste sénégalais majeur de l’Afrique contemporaine, connu pour ses partis pris militants sur les questions politiques et sociales. "Le Mandat" (Mandabi), sorti en 1968, est une adaptation du roman éponyme d’Ousmane Sembène.

     

  • Georges Bataille, Lascaux ou la naissance de l'art, 1955

    • Lascaux ou la naissance de l'art, in Œuvre complètes, Gallimard, 1955

      Lascaux ou la naissance de l'art, in Œuvre complètes, Gallimard, 1955

    • Georges Bataille (1897-1962)

      Georges Bataille (1897-1962)

    • Untitled #8, série Mickael Collection, 2017

      Untitled #8, série Mickael Collection, 2017

  • "Le meilleur texte sur l'art paléolithique et l'art en général. Une approche sensible, esthétique et humaniste de la création plastique. Il faut aimer les grottes !" VM 

     

    Né en 1897, Georges Bataille est un bibliothécaire et écrivain français. Son œuvre se compose d'ouvrages de littérature mais aussi d’anthropologie, de philosophie, d’économie, de sociologie et d’histoire de l’art. Une diversité de genre dont témoigne son essai, Lascaux ou la naissance de l’art, publié en 1955. 

     

     

     

  • Œuvres - sélection