Born in 1978 in Lille, France. François-Xavier Gbré lives and works between La Rochelle in France and Abidjan, Ivory Coast.

In touch with time and geography, his work summons the language of architecture as a witness to memory and social change. From colonial remains to landscapes redefined by current events, he explores territories and revisits History. This constant dialogue with his environment leads him to use different scales and modes of exhibition, whether in the presentation of meticulous installations, linked to a real investigation of the territory, or in the use of architecture itself to make photography resonate in a physical relationship with the spectator or the public space.

 

Sélection d’expositions : Ton pied, mon pied (Jimei x Rencontres d’Arles, Xiamen, Chine, 2020), Chine - Afrique : Beyond the colorline (Centre Pompidou, Paris, France, 2020), Sogno d’Oltremare (Museo MAN, Italie, 2019), Afriques Capitales (La Villette, Paris, 2018), Landscape Photography Today (Denver Art Museum, U.S.A., 2018), Recent Histories (The Walther Collection, Neu-Ulm, Allemagne, 2017), The Past is a Foreign Country (Cantor Fitzgerald Gallery, Haverford College, USA, 2015), Fragments (Galerie Cécile Fakhoury, Côte d’Ivoire, 2015), Abroad (Art Twenty One, Nigeria, 2015).

 

His works have entered the following collections : Centre Pompidou (Paris, France), the Smithsonian Institution (Washington, Usa), Tate Modern (London, UK), Queensland Gallery of Modern Art (Brisbane, Australia), Société Générale (Paris, France), the Walther Collection (Neu-Ulm, Germany - New York, Usa), the Philadelphia Museum of Art (Usa, 2020), the Chazen Museum of Art - University of Wisconsin (Usa, 2020), the Collection des Rencontres d'Arles (France), the Fondation Blachère (France), the Fonds National d'Art Contemporain (France), the Musée des Confluences, Lyon (France).  

 

In 2020, François-Xavier Gbré won the Louis Roederer Prize at the Rencontres Internationales de la Photographie d'Arles.  

 

Image : Echangeur Mitterrand, Riviera 2, Cocody, Abidjan, 2014

Né en 1978 à Lille, France. François-Xavier Gbré vit et travaille entre la Rochelle en France et Abidjan, Côte d'Ivoire. 

 

En prise avec le temps et la géographie, son travail convoque le langage de l’architecture comme témoin de mémoire et des changements sociaux. Des vestiges coloniaux aux paysages redéfinis par l’actualité, il explore des territoires et revisite l’Histoire. Ce dialogue constant avec son environnement l’entraine à utiliser différentes échelles et modes d’expositions, que ce soit dans la présentation d’installations minutieuses, liées à une véritable investigation du territoire, ou dans l’utilisation de l’architecture elle-même pour faire résonner la photographie dans un rapport physique au spectateur ou à l’espace public. 

 

Sélection d’expositionsTon pied, mon pied (Jimei x Rencontres d’Arles, Xiamen, Chine, 2020), Chine - Afrique : Beyond the colorline (Centre Pompidou, Paris, France, 2020), Sogno d’Oltremare (Museo MAN, Italie, 2019), Afriques Capitales (La Villette, Paris, 2018), Landscape Photography Today (Denver Art Museum, U.S.A., 2018), Recent Histories (The Walther Collection, Neu-Ulm, Allemagne, 2017), The Past is a Foreign Country (Cantor Fitzgerald Gallery, Haverford College, USA, 2015), Fragments (Galerie Cécile Fakhoury, Côte d’Ivoire, 2015), Abroad (Art Twenty One, Nigeria, 2015).

 

Ses œuvres sont présentes dans les collections du Centre Pompidou (Paris, France), the Smithsonian Institution (Washington, Usa), Tate Modern (London, UK), Queensland Gallery of Modern Art (Brisbane, Australia), Société Générale (Paris, France), the Walther Collection (Neu-Ulm, Germany - New York, Usa), le Philadelphia Museum of Art (Usa, 2020), le Chazen Museum of Art - University of Wisconsin (Usa, 2020), la Collection des Rencontres d'Arles (France), la Fondation Blachère (France), le Fonds National d'Art Contemporain (France), le Musée des Confluences, Lyon (France),  

 

En 2020, François-Xavier Gbré est lauréat du Prix Louis Roederer des Rencontres Internationales de la Photographie d'Arles. 

 

Image : Echangeur Mitterrand, Riviera 2, Cocody, Abidjan, 2014