Le Bal noir: Carl-Edouard Keïta

16 September - 20 November 2021 DAKAR

Galerie Cécile Fakhoury - Dakar is pleased to present Le Bal noir, the first solo exhibition of the young artist Carl-Édouard Keïta. 

 

Inspired by the teeming creativity of the cabarets of the 1920s in France, where many black performers made their mark on history by the audacity and radical novelty of their creations, Carl-Édouard Keïta plunges us into the heart of a troubling ball. With the lead of the pencil on the paper, the geometrical silhouettes of the Roaring Twenties take shape; backstage scenes and portraits of muses and dancers such as Josephine Baker or Feral Benga, who embody the complex relationship that the era had with the body of the Other. The black body is represented here on stage, both as a receptacle of fantasies and as a vector of its own liberatory discourse. 

 

The aesthetics of Carl-Edouard Keïta unfolds at the crossroads of influences, borrowing as much from constructivism, as from African primitive arts or from jazz. This mixture of references that the artist appropriates and reinterprets with brilliance to create his own universe echoes Paul Gilroy's notion of the "Black Atlantic". In his eponymous book, the theorist conceives the idea of an Atlantic Ocean as a network of cultural pollination and exchange flows between continents.

 

From one work to another, the exhibition Le Bal noir is thus a space for the circulation of polyphonic and visual heritages and unfolds as a sensitive experience where the spectator, subject of the story, is also its the writer and curator.  

 

Carl-Edouard Keïta was born in 1992 in Abidjan, Ivory Coast. He now lives and works in New York. In 2021, he graduated from the New York Academy of Art where he also won the Best Draftsman Award for his graduation work. Le Bal noir is his first solo exhibition.

Le Bal noir: Carl-Edouard Keïta

16 Septembre - 20 Novembre 2021 DAKAR

La Galerie Cécile Fakhoury - Dakar a le plaisir de présenter Le Bal noir, la première exposition personnelle du jeune artiste Carl-Édouard Keïta. 

 

Inspiré de la créativité foisonnante des cabarets des années 1920 en France où se sont produits nombre de performeurs noirs qui ont marqué l’histoire par l’audace et la nouveauté radicale de leurs créations, Carl-Édouard Keïta nous plonge au cœur d’un bal troublant. Au gré de la mine du crayon sur le papier, les silhouettes géométriques de ces Années Folles prennent forme ; scène de coulisses et portraits de muses et danseurs tels que Joséphine Baker ou Feral Benga, qui incarnent alors les rapports complexes qu’entretient l’époque au corps de l’Autre. Le corps noir est ici en représentation sur scène, à la fois réceptacle de fantasmes et vecteur de son propre discours libératoire. 

 

L’esthétique de Carl-Edouard Keïta se déploie à la croisée d’influences, empruntant tant au constructivisme, qu’aux arts premiers africains ou au jazz. Ce mélange de références que l’artiste s’approprie et réinterprète avec brio pour créer son propre univers n’est pas sans faire écho à la notion d’"Atlantique noire" de Paul Gilroy. Dans son ouvrage éponyme, le théoricien conçoit ainsi l'idée d'un océan Atlantique comme réseau de pollinisation culturelle et de flux d'échanges entre les continents.

 

D’une œuvre à l’autre, l’exposition Le Bal noir se fait ainsi espace de circulation d’héritages polyphoniques et visuels et se déploie comme une expérience sensible où le spectateur, sujet de l’histoire, en est aussi l’écrivain et le conservateur.  

 

Carl-Edouard Keïta est né en 1992 à Abidjan en Côte d’Ivoire. Il vit et travaille aujourd’hui à New-York. En 2021, il obtient le diplôme de la New York Academy of Art où il remporte également le prix du meilleur dessinateur pour les œuvres de son diplôme de fin d’année. Le Bal Noir est sa première exposition personnelle.