Born in 1975 in Ketao, Togo. He lives and works in Abidjan, Ivory Coast.
 
After having developed, at a young age, an artistic practice essentially focused on sculpture and assemblies, Sadikou Oukpedjo joins in 1998 the studio of Paul Ahyi in Lome, Togo. He then creates his own studio, 15kms from the capital, in the neighbourhood of Agoe Nyeve. Out of his works, which incorporate several traditional objects that he collected, he questions his cultural heritage through the prism of contemporary issues - political abuse of power, social inequalities and religious conflicts.
 
Over the course of time, he begins to paint as an aside of his work as a sculptor, and then starts numerous aesthetic and material experimentations. From the cement paper to the pastel highlights, from the use of chalks to the canvas painting, Sadikou Oukpedjo creates works with a whole new dimension, as his drawings are modelled in the style of the wood as well as considered as a fully-fledged medium. After a long stay in Bamako, Mali, the country of his foreign origins, he decides to settle in Abidjan, where he essentially dedicates himself to painting.
 
From 2014, when he returned from the Dakar Biennal, Sadikou Oukpedjo started a new series of works of which the half-human, half-animal figures interrogate the animal part of man and his relationship to the other. They have first been shown in 2014 at 1:54 Contemporary African Art Fair in London, and in 2016, this ongoing series was displayed at his first personal exhibition, Anima, at Galerie Cécile Fakhoury in Abidjan.
 
Sadikou Oukpedjo creates works which disturb and question, still exploring the ambiguous relation that man has with his animality, in an increasingly critical viewpoint regarding the supposed radical separation between them. His works were notably shown in 2018, for a personal exhibition, Mutation, at la Cité internationale des arts de Paris. Even though he keeps painting on canvas, his own questioning and attempted answers take the form of plastic innovations, whether it is through painting on mirrors or reverse painting on glass pieces.
 
Selected exhibitions: Des Hommes et des Totems, Galerie Le Manège, Dakar (Senegal, 2018), Les Fantômes de l'Afrique, in collaboration with Vincent Michéa, Galerie Cécile Fakhoury, Dakar (Senegal, 2018), Mutation, Cité internationale des arts de Paris (France, 2018), Silentium, Galerie Cécile Fakhoury, Abidjan (Ivory Coast, 2019), L'Esprit du large, Galerie Cécile Fakhoury (Dakar et Abidjan, 2019)
 
 
Image: 100 Titres #2, 2018

Né en 1970 à Ketao au Togo. Il vit et travaille aujourd'hui à Abidjan, Côte d'Ivoire.
 
Après avoir développé très jeune une pratique artistique essentiellement portée sur la sculpture et les assemblages, Sadikou Oukpedjo intègre en 1998 l'atelier de Paul Ahyi à Lomé au Togo. Il crée par la suite son propre atelier à 15km de la capitale, dans le quartier d'Agoe Nyeve. Au travers de ses œuvres, intégrant notamment un ensemble d'objets traditionnels collectés, il interroge son héritage culturel par le prisme des problématiques actuelles - abus du pouvoir politique, inégalités sociales et conflits religieux.
 
Au fil des années, il commence à peindre en marge de son travail de sculpteur et multiplie alors les expérimentations. Du papier de ciment aux rehauts de pastels, de l'utilisation de craies à la peinture sur toile, il crée des œuvres aux dimensions nouvelles, le dessin étant à la fois modelé à la manière du bois et envisagé comme un médium à part entière. Après un long séjour à Bamako au Mali, pays de ses lointaines origines, il décide de s'installer à Abidjan où il se consacre alors essentiellement à la peinture.
 
A partir de 2014, à son retour de la Biennale de Dakar, Sadikou Oukpedjo commence une série d'œuvres dont les figures hybrides viennent interroger la part animale de l'homme et son rapport à l'autre. Après avoir été présentée en 2014 à 1:54 Contemporary African Art Fair à Londres, cette série fera l'objet d'une exposition personnelle, Anima, à la galerie Cécile Fakhoury d'Abidjan en 2016.
 
Explorant toujours les rapports ambigus que l'homme entretient avec son animalité, dans une perspective par ailleurs de plus en plus critique à l'égard d'une prétendue séparation radicale, Sadikou Oukpedjo produit des œuvres qui dérangent et interrogent. Elles seront notamment présentées en 2018 lors d'une exposition personnelle, Mutation, à la Cité internationale des arts de Paris. Sans abandonner la peinture sur toile, ses propres questionnements et tentatives de réponse prennent la forme d'innovation plastiques, que ce soit sous la forme de peinture sur miroir ou encore de peinture sous des morceaux de verre.
 
Sélection d'expositions : Des Hommes et des Totems, Galerie Le Manège, Dakar (Sénégal, 2018), Les Fantômes de l'Afrique, en collaboration avec Vincent Michéa, Galerie Cécile Fakhoury, Dakar (Sénégal, 2018), Mutation, Cité internationale des arts de Paris (France, 2018), Silentium, Galerie Cécile Fakhoury, Abidjan (Côte d'Ivoire, 2019), L'Esprit du large, Galerie Cécile Fakhoury (Dakar et Abidjan, 2019)
 
Image : 100 Titres #2, 2018