The artist Roméo Mivekannin draws his inspiration from photographic archives and iconic paintings emblematic of the history of Western art. From Jean-Léon Gérôme's Vente d'esclave (1873) to Gustave Manet's Olympia (1863) and the first photographic portraits of the colonial monarchies of the second half of the 19th century, Roméo Mivekannin focuses particularly on the ambiguous representations of black figures, sources of both fascination and fear, sometimes anonymised, eroticized or objectified and intended for the almost exclusive eye of a male and Euro-centred viewer.

 

The artist's works, black acrylic paintings on canvases tinted by repeated elixir baths, are thus the place to question a marked iconography inherited from the systems of human trafficking and domination that slavery and colonization were. Drawing a continuous direct line between past and contemporary history, the artist chooses to take up the facts of these historical representations and subvert their primary narrative in order to construct, somewhat ironically, his own vision of common narratives.  

 

“Taking myself as a subject, taking my own body as a subject.”

 

In his works, Roméo Mivekannin thus questions the invisible and the hidden. He brings to light the workings of representation that carry the systems of domination and introduces a subtle critique, on the borderline between rewriting a collective memory and repairing a personal identity fracture.

L’artiste Roméo Mivekannin puise son inspiration dans des fonds d’archives photographiques ou des toiles iconiques emblématiques de l’histoire de l’art occidentale. De Vente d’esclave de Jean-Léon Gérôme (1873) à Olympia de Gustave Manet (1863) en passant par les premiers portraits photographiques des monarchies coloniales de la seconde moitié du 19ème siècle, Roméo Mivekannin se concentre particulièrement sur les représentations ambigües des figures noires, sources tant de fascinations que de craintes, tantôt anonymisées, érotisées ou objectivées et destinées à l’oeil quasi exclusif d’un spectateur masculin et euro-centré.

 

Les oeuvres de l’artiste, peintures à l’acrylique noire sur des toiles teintées par des bains répétés d’élixir, se font alors le lieu de la remise en question d’une iconographie marquée héritée des systèmes de trafic humain et de domination qu’ont été l’esclavage et la colonisation. Traçant une ligne directe continue entre une histoire passée et contemporaine, l’artiste choisit de reprendre les faits de ces représentations historiques et d’en subvertir leur narration première afin de construire, non sans ironie, sa propre vision des récits communs. 

 

"Me prendre comme sujet, prendre mon propre corps comme sujet."

 

 

 

Dans ses oeuvres, Roméo Mivekannin interroge l’invisible et le caché. Il met à jour les rouages de la représentation qui portent les systèmes de domination et y introduit une critique subtile, à la frontière entre réécriture d’une mémoire collective et réparation d’une fracture identitaire personnelle.