Nestor Da found his inspiration in the materiality of a photograph and the infinite possibilities to transform an image. He constructs his work not only from his own photographs as a starting point, but also with found materials. He juxtaposes, confronts, paints and overlaps them into a single image in order to deconstruct the original. Photographs are the raw material of Nestor Da's artworks. He assembles and collects fragments to unveil a new life for the images and build a singular universe on photographic paper.

 

Nestor Da began composing from a photograph that he took. He made a chosen reality enter his studio, the laboratory of his work. This piece of history is the starting point: then only he processes to painting, cutting out and sometimes even tearing up. Each step of the realisation partitions the ensemble: he creates through successive layers, passages and handprints, that until he transforms the image up to a point, which tends, and reconnects it, to his imagination. A work by Nestor Da is a tale, a photocollage where distortions of the world and poetry cohabit through the freedom of painting.

 

Nestor Da's creative approach is very similar to a photomontage but he also draws his inspiration from expressionist painting and even Graffiti art. His images are always poetic; dazzling and expressive like a wave, but also elusive. The artist plays with reality and symbolism. The bright colors strike the viewer and both the material and pattern used challenge our perception of the world. Nestor Da's body of work has the particularity of always display a fresh vision of the world that surrounds us and also brings the viewer to ponder.

Nestor Da trouve son inspiration dans la matérialité de la photographie et dans les possibilités infinies de transformation d'une image. Il construit son travail non seulement à partir de ses propres photographies, mais aussi à partir de matériaux trouvés. Il les juxtapose, les confronte les uns aux autres, les peint et les fait se chevaucher dans la même image afin de déconstruire l'original. Les photographies sont pour lui un matériau brut. Il collectionne et rassemble des fragments qui dévoilent une nouvelle vision de l'image et crée un univers singulier sur papier photographique.

 

Nestor Da compose à partir d'une photographie qu'il a prise, il fait entrer une réalité choisie en atelier, en travail, dans son laboratoire. Ce bout d'histoire est un point de départ, il peint ensuite, il découpe et déchire parfois. Chaque étape de réalisation partitionne l'ensemble, il modèle par couches successives, en passages, par empreinte de la main. Jusqu'à transformer l'image en déséquilibre vers le point qui la rattache à son imagination. Une œuvre de Nestor Da est un conte, des photocollages où les distorsions du monde et la poésie, la liberté de la peinture cohabitent.

 

La pratique artistique de Nestor Da se rapproche à la fois du photo-montage tout en puisant ses inspirations dans la peinture expressionniste, ou encore le graffiti. Il y a toujours de la poésie, ces images sont comme des vagues, fulgurantes, expressives mais aussi insaisissables. L'artiste joue entre le réel et le symbolisme. Les couleurs vives nous frappent, et le jeu de matières, et des motifs bouleverse notre perception du monde. Nestor Da a toujours la particularité de proposer une nouvelle vision du réel qui nous entoure et de nous amener à nous questionner en perturbant notre œil.

 

Images : Untitled #4 et Untitled #8, Au rythme de la vie, Belgique, 2014